hospitals and hand grenades

December 24, 2009

Rest in peace Billy Clayton Burton. April 12, 1961 – December 23, 2009. You were more of a father than a son could ever dream of having.

Well life has been kind of rough these past few days. On Monday I got a call from my family saying that my dad had gone into the ICU and that he wasn’t doing too well. (For those of you who don’t know, my dad had been having health problems on and off for the past year.)

So for the past 3 days I had been (more or less) living at the hospital.. even sleeping there. We got some pretty bad news this morning that my dad wasn’t getting any better. The doctors had done everything they could do and my dad was just not recovering from his sickness. We had some tough decisions to make as a family, but we decided that it was best to back him off of life support and let him start celebrating his life with Jesus in heaven.

It’s crazy how being at a hospital and dealing with this stuff with my dad has made me feel like a hand grenade has gone off in my life. I feel like I’ve been blown apart and scattered across the ground like schrapnel. My family is strong and that’s a good thing. We are pulling together and trusting in the Lord.

I know that my dad’s life was a testimony to God’s goodness. He loved us more than we know and he had sacrificed so much so that we could have everything we ever wanted. I hope when I grow up that I am able to give even a portion of what he has given to everyone that was around him. I am so happy that he has gone to a better place, but this is going to be the toughest thing I’ve ever been through.

I just want to say that I appreciate everyone who is keeping my family in your prayers. We love you so much for all the support you have been and are giving to me and my family.

One Response to “hospitals and hand grenades”

  1. Chip Burns said

    Will be praying for you and your family. Glad to hear that your dad is with Lord now. Stay strong.

Leave a Reply

