servant

November 18, 2009

Over the past few days I have had tons of time to think and pray. I got to spend a weekend in the woods with an awesome group of guys last weekend. As we were hiking through the trails I began to pray and the Lord really started laying some stuff on my heart. I have come to realize that I am so far from where I want to be. God challenges us to live up to some pretty tough standards but I have decided I want even more than that. I want to be like Jesus. Always giving of myself and never expecting in return. It’s easier said than done because I am one of the most selfish people I know. If I were to look back at all of the things I have done in my life, it’s a good possibility that 99% of them would be because I expected something in return. Maybe it wasn’t something physical, like a gift, but I know that I thrive off of gratification. I guess my prayer for today is “Lord make me humble.”

A pretty cool guy named Jesus once told his disciples:

“If anyone wants to be first, he must be the very last, and the servant of all.”

What would it be like if I was a servant of all?

One Response to “servant”

  1. Guy Walker said

    Seth that is the same verse that jumped out at me the other day. It is such a challenge. who can be servant to all?

    any ways pretty much the same conviction here

Leave a Reply

